Advice for Next Steps After a Facility Closure for a Young Quality Professional

ssponensk

Registered
Hi All,

I am a young Quality professional in the manufacturing industry. Unfortunately, my place of employment has just announced it will be stopping production soon and will be closing its doors. I wanted to seek advice on what others would do in my current situation.

To give some background, I graduated with a BA in Chemistry in 2019. I worked at an Environmental Analytical Laboratory after graduation up until mid-2020 where I made a move into manufacturing with the hopes of excelling in a hourly role and being taken on into a leadership role where I would be able to use my skill set. Fortunately, I got promoted into a Quality Supervisor role which I have been in for ~1.5 years.

With the announcement of my facility's closure, I am feeling a bit lost on what's next for me. It is not new for manufacturing facilities to close in the industry that I work in currently and other facilities in this industry are generally located across the country for me. As much as I enjoy the industry I am in, I do not feel a strong need to go move to another facility elsewhere just to stay in this industry. Around where I live, there is a lot of Aerospace industry and I would like to try and transition into a Quality role within Aerospace or other manufacturing (Food Manufacturing).

Due to some benefits of being a "dislocated worker", I have the option to go back to school and get additional certificates or degrees; I believe this will cover up to two years of additional education at public secondary education schools but I am still learning about the benefits.