Is there a better way to do a complete assessment of our QMS?

AS9100Dbag

Registered
First some context:

I have no quality management experience. I'm a lowly inspector who has been charged with significant responsibility for the last 8 or so months:, assisting our quality manager with assessing our QMS after our prior manager retired last year.
it sucks
I'm a smart dude and my boss trusts me to take it seriously and become capable, and he needs the help, but I am UTTERLY unqualified. My boss has no previous experience in his role, but he's been working in manufacturing for a long time and has a pretty good general idea about QMSs, but I don't believe he's been responsible for building/assessing/maintaining one. We're figuring it out largely on our own and I'm so grateful for the guidance you guys have been giving me for some time now.

I work in a small manufacturing company of about 30 employees. The QMS is obviously a mess to anyone that uses it or looks at it, even myself, but our manufacturing processes are mature and stable and well controlled. As such, our customer issues very few C.A.s, but we could probably make inroads in efficiency and cost, I think. There are significant holes in the way we meet some requirements, more importantly there's a tremendous opportunity to improve the things we don't do well. I've already consumed the 'process over requirements' Kool-Aid.

Even as a small company with one product line and one customer, we have more than 1800 controlled documents in our QMS. This does not include any drawings or spec documentation, merely guidelines, procedures, forms, work instructions etc. It is a straight-up fucking nightmare. We consistently do good work, but it's not in any way a result of an effective QMS.