Grubbs Test for Outliers and Why there are no Z-values for N>25

P

patric wessels

Dear all,

I am not sure if this is the right forum for this subject, but here's the question:

We are trying to assist our operators in determining whether a measured point is an outlier or not. We want to use the Grubbs test for this purpose. The problem is that in case of a large sample we measure 120 points and the tables with the Z-values (for 99% probability) only goes up to 25 samples points.

I am not an expert in statistics but I am sure there is a reason for this.

Can anyone help me out and explain why there are no Z-values for N>25?

Thanks.

Best regards,

Patric Wessels
QA Engineer

Miner

Forum Moderator
Leader
Admin
patric wessels said:
Dear all,

I am not sure if this is the right forum for this subject, but here's the question:

We are trying to assist our operators in determining whether a measured point is an outlier or not. We want to use the Grubbs test for this purpose. The problem is that in case of a large sample we measure 120 points and the tables with the Z-values (for 99% probability) only goes up to 25 samples points.

I am not an expert in statistics but I am sure there is a reason for this.

Can anyone help me out and explain why there are no Z-values for N>25?

Thanks.

Best regards,

Patric Wessels
QA Engineer

Unless I am misunderstanding your question, a z-table does not depend on sample size. You enter the table using a given z-value and obtain a p-value as an output.

The sample size does come into play when calculating the z-value. See http://www.changbioscience.com/stat/ztest.html for an online z calculator.

Are you sure that you want the z-value? The NIST guide (http://www.itl.nist.gov/div898/handbook/eda/section3/eda35h.htm ) shows that the t-value is used for Grubb's test.

Tim Folkerts

Trusted Information Resource