Could we combine ISO 13485 and ISO 9001:2008?

T

toile

Hi :bigwave:,
I have been consulting the site since the end of june 2009, I realy like it, I found a lot of ansers to my questions. I have just got my first job in this field, I have a certificate in quality assurance. It was very simple for the Iso 9001 certification that i studied, but last week one of our major customers asked to be certified ISO 13485.
Could you plase tell me what do I have to do in our case, we are already certified Iso 9001. What ae the steps. Do I have to make an other manual, other procedures and other forms or just add things to the ISo 9001 documentation. It will be very apreciated if you give me some examples.

We are producting Titanium powders that are used for chirurgical implants by our customer. What is th class and regulation for our product (titanium powders)

:thanx:

Last edited by a moderator:

Kales Veggie

People: The Vital Few
You will have to do a gap analysis between your current QMS and ISO13485 (probably also 11 CFR 820 if you export to the USA and Canadian medical device requirements), then augment your quality manual and procedures.

You will have to write several additional procedures and how you keep and maintain records might have to be changed.

There are several checklist published in the site here. Click on "post attachment list" and search for 13485.

If you have detailed questions, please ask.

M

MIREGMGR

What is the class and regulation for our product (titanium powders)
I'm not aware of how powdered titanium could be considered a medical device under Canadian, EU or US rules. It would seem to me to be a raw material.

Note however in regard to your own regulatory stance that this standard:

ISO 5832-2:1999, Implants for surgery - Metallic materials - Part 2: Unalloyed titanium

would seem to be relevant, in that your customer(s) may have to cite it in their documentation of their device-products.