AAR M-1003 - No design exclusions permitted

J

Jaybee

Hi,
This is my first post here. New to the forums and have read some great stuff.:)

I'm a quality manager for an ISO 9001 certified company, and because we make railroad products, we must also be M-1003 certified, which is the American Association of Railroads QMS spec that is basically structured like the 1994 version of the ISO standard, with several unique requirements as well.

We have asked an overseas supplier to produce a particular product that will require them to become M-1003 certified, too. They are already 9001 certified, and because they do not do design work, they have take a section 7.3 exclusion in their ISO registration. I will be working in the US as their representative to the AAR, so am tasked with recommending the changes they make to their QMS to make it M-1003 certifiable.

For companies that are already ISO certified, the AAR will issue "reciprocity" certifications, meaning that as long as the ISO registration is in good standing, the AAR auditor will just perform a certification audit on the AAR-specific requirements. However, I have learned that the AAR has a problem with D&D exclusions. To wit, here is an excerpt from the AAR audit checklist that will be used during the certification audit:

"If it is determined that design control is not applicable to the ISO registration, the supplier must adequately address this element in their QA Manual to satisfy M-1003. Statements such as "Not Applicable" are not acceptable and a detailed description of exactly what is being done in lieu of design control is required. The supplier could treat this requirement by describing how they would do Design Control if they actually did make design changes."

Sooo... I'm not sure how to get around this obstacle. I have to write something for the manual or procedures, but am not sure how to go about it.