AIAG 4th Edition Capability Study and Gage R&R Requirements

D

djtodd27

I have been doing PPAP's for this company for about 8 yrs now. Just the other day the Quality Manager contacted me to reject a PPAP because there was no capability study or R&R. My response was there was no cpk or characteristics on teh print. The response was I need to do an R&R on all gages used on the control plan and check a characteristic to make sure our process is cabable but no cpk was given. When looking in our PPAP foruth edition book it states to reference the MSA reference manual (we don't have it). My question is "Is this a true statement and I need to R&R all the gages and capability study this. That is alot of work for 1 person. Another question is there P.O stated a level 2 PPAP what does that really mean? They also do not supply a bulk materials list on what they require.
Todd

Jim Wynne

Leader
Admin
I have been doing PPAP's for this company for about 8 yrs now. Just the other day the Quality Manager contacted me to reject a PPAP because there was no capability study or R&R. My response was there was no cpk or characteristics on teh print. The response was I need to do an R&R on all gages used on the control plan and check a characteristic to make sure our process is cabable but no cpk was given. When looking in our PPAP foruth edition book it states to reference the MSA reference manual (we don't have it). My question is "Is this a true statement and I need to R&R all the gages and capability study this. That is alot of work for 1 person. Another question is there P.O stated a level 2 PPAP what does that really mean? They also do not supply a bulk materials list on what they require.
Todd

This is a murky area insofar as PPAP is concerned. First, ISO/TS 16949 says this about MSA:
[FONT=Arial,Bold]
[FONT=Arial,Bold]7.6.1 Measurement system analysis[/FONT]