What constitutes Major and Minor changes in Software

S

ShadinDC

As a Knowledge Manager, I'm new to the business analysis field. I was asked to put together a list and detail what constitutes a major and minor change request for software. The software in question is Adobe Experience Manager.
This paper will be used by the customer (authors/content managers) to establish workflows for certain internal processes. Can someone tell me what examples make up a major versus minor change. Please list examples. Are there any other "changes" that don't fall within major and minor. Also, please list examples.
I feel like I'm in bureaucratic limbo. Of course this is a govt agency.
Thank you all very much for assisting me.

S

ShadinDC

I would like to give some clarification - these are changes the client may ask the developer to do. Example: Create a page, change a workflow, changes to arthur or publisher groups, etc...

Marc

Fully vaccinated are you?
Leader
I would think those would be defined by comparing the current contract requirements to any change request.

However, I am not a software expert. I would *think* this would be a gray area because the definition of major vs. the definition of minor would be not only company/project specific, but also customer specific. Customer expects X, gets X-1 and is dissatisfied while the supplier is seeing "we did everything the contract calls for". Supplier believes the change(s) is/are major by their company "standards" yet the client (purchaser) sees it as a minor change by their company definition.

I will say that any time I see a customer request for change, I stress how important Contract Review is prior to accepting a change (and typically these are "running changes"). I see a lot of these fail because the customer wants to tighten up a tolerance and the supplier doesn't have a qualified GD&T expert to review the print(s) and the next thing you know the company has committed to a change they can not produce to.