Quality Manual Index in Endless Loop

C

cwhetzell

I am fairly new to the ISO world so I have some basic questions ISO9001:2008.

1) My Controlled Documents Index includes itself (the Controlled Documents Index) as one of the many listings since it has it's own Issue/Revision number and is controlled. But If I update the Index to, let's say Revision 2, then the listing on the Index FOR the Index also changes. But since it changes, then I need to change the whole document again....which results in needing to change the line item for the Controlled Document Index and on and on. How do I get around this endless loop? Can the Controlled Document Index itself not be controlled and not have a Issue/Revision #? Is it ok for Indexes and Table of Contents in general not to have Issue/Revision numbers so that they can be updated without having to to a Document Revision? That would save a lot of time and energy as changing any one document requires a change in at the very least 2 documents since it is listed on an Index somewhere.

2) If I switched our manual and hence Indicies to only digital format, would that negate the need for Issue/Revision #'s? If so, how does one keep track of changes?

3) Are all Working Documents controlled? I.e. do I need an Issue/Revision Number (or some kind of ref#) for all of our documents? What about documents that are digital and which can be filled in and printed? Does adding an additional space to a Word document change it and thus require a Change Request. That sounds ridiculous but I'm trying to get my head around the ISO 9001:2008 requirements. Or must all fields that would lead to any formatting changes be password protected thus preventing any minor changes?

Thanks for any advice. I've spent hours online looking for answers to these basic questions and haven't come across them.

-Chad

T

t.PoN

nothing in iso 9001 require you to have an issue/revision number.
its your in-house procedure that require to do that.