Sample Size and Confidence question for Small Sample Size on Large Lots

R

RMedrano

Ive been searching through the forums, a lot of the stuff I have found seems to be Waaay over my head here.

I have very little statistical background other than Testing for normality, running Capability studies and doing Gage R&R's

We have inherited an inspection process from our sister company. This process gets lots of parts roughly in the 25k to 30k range.

Right now they sample 30 pcs from a lot of parts and perform 4-5 different variable inspections on the parts. If all parts pass all the inspections, the lot is accepted and no further analysis is done.

Basically everyone is asking me if there is a way to calculate the confidence of determining if a lot is acceptable when the inspection is reduced from 30 pcs to 15 pcs?

W

world quality

Re: Yet another sample size question

does this help:

Attachments

• How To Determine Sample Size.doc
    123 KB · Views: 601

Bev D

Heretical Statistician
Leader
Super Moderator

let me ask a couple of clarifying questions:
you say that 30 pieces are selected and if none are outside the spec limits the lot is accepted? And there is no calculation of the sample standard deviation or analysis to determine if given the sample mean and the sample standard deviation would indicate that some percentage parts might be out of spec? If the answer is yes, then you are basically using a categorical (old fashioned term = attributes) sampling plan.

The categorical approach would allow a 10% defect rate to be accepted 95% of the time it occured. (assuming you only accept the lot if there are no defects). If you reduce your sample size to 15 and keep the pass/fail approach then you could accept a 20% defect rate
(See "Zero Defect Sampling" in Quality Progress November 2007)

This is without adjusting for the fact that you are looking at multiple characteristics. It also doesn't take into account that you may not be sampling randomly from the lot.