Supplier Performance of "non-key" Supplier

S

svijayc

Hello,

I am a newbie to the elsmar forum and I would appreciate any help I can get.

I am a quality assurance lead in a small startup medical device company (< 15 employees) and we are ISO 13485 certified and we are trying to document supplier performance.
We have an approved supplier list which contains suppliers of key components we will track their performance.

We also buy off the shelf products that are not key components from any supplier that can provide us the part. These suppliers are not part of our approved supplier list. I was wondering if we need to track the performance of these supplier as well.

Thanks for all the help

Regards
Shubha

S

svijayc

Hello Phil,

Thanks for the reply. We are a virtual manufacturing company so all of our sourcing is done via a contract manufacturer. For parts of our system that are essential to the working of our system we fix suppliers and force them to buy it only from them but for some other material like shipping supplies etc the contract manufacturer will buy from any supplier they deem fit. We define them as class II suppliers.

These class II supplier are not part of our approved supplier list.

I was wondering if there is an ISO requirement to track the performance of these "Class II" suppliers?

Thanks
Regards
Shubha

Stijloor

Leader
Super Moderator
Hello Phil,

Thanks for the reply. We are a virtual manufacturing company so all of our sourcing is done via a contract manufacturer. For parts of our system that are essential to the working of our system we fix suppliers and force them to buy it only from them but for some other material like shipping supplies etc the contract manufacturer will buy from any supplier they deem fit. We define them as class II suppliers.

These class II supplier are not part of our approved supplier list.

I was wondering if there is an ISO requirement to track the performance of these "Class II" suppliers?

Thanks
Regards