Calculating Sample Size for very low AQL

N

nate_9

Hi,

This is my first time posting in the cove. I have a unique situation where my AQL is 0.002% and I am trying to calculate a sampling size from a lot which is above 500,000 cups. My Ac and Re will be 0 and 1, respectively (since these numbers cannot go below anymore). I do not want to do 100% inspection and the Mil-Std-105E's chart does not go below 0.01% on AQL.

Any suggestion on my options? Is Mil-Std-105E the best option?

Thanks
Nate

apestate

Quite Involved in Discussions
Who set the AQL at .002%?

Also, are you inspecting all features or certain critical ones? Are there variables data or is it all attributes?

Is there anyone demanding that you do acceptance sampling instead of other tools that maybe don't rely on inspection to provide quality?

Bev D

Heretical Statistician
Leader
Super Moderator
well your sample size is pretty large (~2560, but I dont' have my all my spreadsheets so I could be wrong) however it wil lbe pretty large.

20 ppm is really small for categorical data plans. will your customer accept other approaches such as continuous data sampling coupled with SPC or perhaps mistake proofing? inspecting for this quality level is not a good approach.

Statistical Steven

Statistician
Leader
Super Moderator
Bev...2543 to be exact :)

I am also weary of such large sample sizes since attribute sampling plans are not very effective (i.e. inspector fatigue, etc.). Reducing the sample size to 500 still gives you an AQL of 0.01%

N

nate_9

Thanks for all the suggestions so far.

The situation is like this:-

We are planning to modify our product to contain more volume of liquid. However by doing this, we may jeopardize the seal integrity of the package, potentially inviting more consumer complaints relating to leaking product. A trial has already been ran with a lot size of 500,000 containers, but waiting on sampling and testing.