Supplier Scorecard Metrics - Supplier PPM Quality Defects

P

pammesue

Im looking over our Supplier Scorecard Metrics and think they may not be up to par.
This procedure hasnt been rolled in awhile and I would like to have your input on the Quality Defect Level PPM. Do you think they are fair or are they unreaslistic?
Score on the left is 1-10 related to the QUALITY DEFECT LEVEL PPM we find per quarter.

Score / PPM
10 30 or better
9 100
8 250
7 500
6 1000
5 2500
4 5000
3 10,000
2 15,000
1 30,000

Im fairly new to statistics, so be very gentle with your responses.
thanks,
Pammy

Jim Wynne

Leader
Admin
Re: Supplier PPM Quality Defects

Im looking over our Supplier Scorecard Metrics and think they may not be up to par.
This procedure hasnt been rolled in awhile and I would like to have your input on the Quality Defect Level PPM. Do you think they are fair or are they unreaslistic?
Score on the left is 1-10 related to the QUALITY DEFECT LEVEL PPM we find per quarter.

Score / PPM
10 30 or better
9 100
8 250
7 500
6 1000
5 2500
4 5000
3 10,000
2 15,000
1 30,000

Im fairly new to statistics, so be very gentle with your responses.
thanks,
Pammy

It seems to be an arbitrary scale, and whether it's useful or not depends on what you do with it, and whether what you do with it results in improvement.

P

pammesue

It has inspired 1 supplier to try harder, but more often than not, we get no response in return from our lower end suppliers.

So in a sense it is effective somewhat. We do follow up with corrective actions, but we are between a rock and a hard place with 2 of our suppliers. They are critical to our operation and they are the only ones we have.

Thanks for your reply Jim

CarolX

Trusted Information Resource

Hi Pam,

I agree with Jim.

Do you know your suppliers' capabilites. Can they really score a "10"?