What, if any, customer notification is required?

Adriane

Involved - Posts
Hello,
I feel like I already know a lot of you as I've been lurking for awhile now. Haven't had to post yet because I always find what I need, thank you all very very much.

Sooo, here goes. I'm the QM/MR for a job-shop type ISO 9001:2000 certified powder coater. Sales would like to change a particular powder to a cheaper powder - without informing any of our customers. I'm new to ISO (only have 6 months under my belt here). I've always been a QS girl. So tell me please - "where's the shall?" - within the ISO standard? I'm not seeing it if it's there - I just want to be sure that I'm remaining compliant to the standard. I'll hand it over to you folks now...

SteelMaiden

Super Moderator
Trusted Information Resource
If it's not PPAP'd and nothing in the Customer's purchase order specifying that you use the more expensive coating, there is no shall. I would hope that you would do some trialing on a change like this though just to ensure that there is no change that affects the key characteristics of the product adversely. (That would fall under process/product control)

Jim Wynne

Leader
Admin
SteelMaiden said:
If it's not PPAP'd and nothing in the Customer's purchase order specifying that you use the more expensive coating, there is no shall. I would hope that you would do some trialing on a change like this though just to ensure that there is no change that affects the key characteristics of the product adversely. (That would fall under process/product control)
I agree. If there's no customer specification that requires use of a particular material, then what's left is compliance with functional/performance/cosmetic characteristics.

J

Joe Cruse

Hi Adriane, welcome and nice first post topic.

Firstly, does the customer's PO/contract stipulate that you tell them of any changes made to the product? If so, then legally (then, as per standard requirements) you must tell them.