BSBM-->MBA-QM or MSQA

gard2372

Quite Involved in Discussions
I posted this also in the ASQ discussion boards. I wanted to get as much feedback as possible. Also, not many people frequent both boards. Except maybe Wes, Bill P. and others regualrs here.

I recently graduated with my BS Business Management degree. :D I'm now at an impasse as to where I should take my graduate degree direction. :confused:

I have a technical background 10+ years from the military, aerospace, and power generation industries respectively. Although I'm not an engineer, I've worked along side them for a number of years now all the while serving in a quality role... (inspector, technician, engineer tech/aid and associate). I'm taking my CQE this year as well as other ASQ certs later on down the road.

Having said that, many similar posts I've read here and on the ASQ boards are mostly by people with engineering/statistics backgrounds. I however have a business management degree with a number of years in industry as a quality professional (non-management).

The question I have is with my background and a bachelor's degree in business management, should I pursue a MBA with a QM core, or pursue the MSQA? I have figured out a direction career wise I want to go in, but I would like some outside input and experiences from others familiar with this that might help me see more than I would on my own in this regard.

Rob

Randy

Super Moderator
Do the MBA thing. It allows more versatility and more lateral/verticle potential. Focus on the finance end with a background in quality.

Ask yourself the question..."How many "Quality" professionals are CEO's and COO's of major corporations?" You answer will be zilch.

The world and business revolve around finance/profit and quality is just one of the mechanisms involved in the equation.

Do you want to be in the wings playing a support role or do you want to be in the forefront playing a true leadership role?

R

ralphsulser