Starting a Calibration Laboratory in State College, PA

F

fortyfour73

Hello and please assist.
Looking to start small and then growing Calibrations Lab in the State College, PA area. Due to issues on Audit, found that most companies find it a pain or do not correctly do gage pins and/or gage blocks. This started me thinking.
Will be ISO and A2LA cert. when I start and ASQ calibrations cert. as well.
Need to know the steps and opinions to start? ISO cert. procedures to start as well as possible backers in this field for start ups. Would be easy to start with cert. equipment at discount and progress into Cap. meters analyzers and so on within short time span, just need to get started and all information and insight I can get.
If anyone has already done this or tried this, Would love to hear your experiences.
Thank you in advance to all who comment.

:cfingers:

V

vanputten

Hello:

I am not an expert in this area. The following may or may not help:

"ISO certs" probably is an ISO 17025 accreditation. I would not concern myself with other management system standards for now. Get a copy of ISO 17025 and read it, understand the concepts. A2LA is an accreditation body. You will not get an A2LA cert. You will get an accreditiaton from A2LA - probably for ISO 17025. In other words, you would get an ISO 17025 accreditation from A2LA.

Not sure what ASQ calibarion certs are.

There are many experts on the Elsmar Cove in this area that can help you more than I can.

Regards,

Dirk

F

fortyfour73

Thanks. Sorry, used short lingo and threw in certs. where accredidation should be. Will definately look into the ISO pointed out.
ASQ (American society of Quality)certification for Calibrations Technician is for my own credentials as well as previous school/experience.
Thank you again.
:thanx:

BradM

Leader
Admin
I'll log on later with more stuff. Some initial questions:

1. How long have you been doing calibrations, and what type of equipment?