5 Whys powerpoint .ppt training presentation - Attached

J

jbmx1

Hi Friends:

I was asked to prepare a presentation about 5 Whys for training purposes to the Mfg Engineers and I came up with this one. I refused to follow the academic approach and I kinda put whatever I have learned in my 12 years experience in the Quality area but I would like your opinion on the presentation.

Comments are more than welcome.

Regards,

Javier

Attachments

• 5 Whys Training.ppt
    343.5 KB · Views: 11,799
Q

qualitygoddess - 2010

Well Done

I liked it. I think you will really get your point across, especially if you 'do a 5 why' with the group right away. It could be some obvious problem from daily life, just to help them get the practice.........

Great stuff! :)

J

jmp4429

I think the content is good, but I have a few suggestions.

-If the presentation is meant to be e-mailed to your engineers, I think the text is fine. If someone is actually going to be presenting the material in a training session, I recommend breaking up the text into smaller sections. Those long paragraphs are a lot to read during a presentation.

-When I first heard of the 5 Whys, I could not see how this technique would really be a helpful problem solving tool. It was not until I saw an example of the 5 Whys in action that I saw how it actually worked. You might put a full example into the presenationk, such as:

Problem: The press is leaking oil

WHY is the press leaking oil?
There is a crack in the oil filter.
WHY is the filter cracked?
Because it gets too hot during use.
WHY does it get so hot?
Because the cooling system isn't working properly.
WHY doesn't the cooling system work?
There is too much dust on the cooling coils.
WHY is there too much dust on the coils?
The air intake filter is missing.

Solution: Replace the air intake filter.

J

jbmx1

Thanks