Help me with Surface Plate Calibration

E

Edgarf

Good Day sirs,

I have been in calibration career for only 6months in an aviation industry,can someone give an idea visual or a procedure that I can easily understand regarding surface plate calibration?

We have in our lab a Talyvel 4.0.

I have been assigned in dimensional area.I would surely appreciate any help for a newbie like me.

S

silentrunning

Re: Can someone help me with surface plates?

I am far from an expert on this but I have watched the calibration company gage our surface plates and our tech said he is looking for repeatability and flatness. Each grade and size of surface plate has different requirements. One thing I do know is that larger surface plates must have even support all around to maintain their accuracy.

E

Edgarf

Thank you sirs, I will be posting some questions in other areas as well.
If anybody knows a good calibration training videos for a starter,kindly advise.

Thanks again.

This is a really excellent site.

:agree1:

dgriffith

Quite Involved in Discussions
The calibration community is a lot like doctors. We have our own special dead language to keep out the riff-raff, and we always perform our work from memory and don't need a procedure . . . . oh, wait, that's just the medical community. Never mind.

If you don't have anyone to mentor you and are not close to any training institutions--community colleges and the like--then you can surf the web for companies that specialize in calibration-related training. It's not inexpensive, though.

Just noticed at the bottom of this page are 5 links to surface plate threads.

Last edited:

Hershal

Metrologist-Auditor
Trusted Information Resource
Edgarf, Here is a link to a US Navy vid, now on Youtube. It is not highly technical, but presents a basic explanation for the need to calibrate.