Thread Gage Calibration Software to look up requireds/specs for thread gages

M

metrologyguy

We are looking to update our software we use to look up requireds/specs for thread gage calibration. We perform this service for a wide range of industries and see a lot of special threads. If you have experience with a software package that you would recommend, I would like to hear about it. I am open to any and all ideas.

Thank you.

Jerry Eldred

Forum Moderator
Super Moderator
I'll have to defer this one. My background is more electrical/electronic calibration. If you could elaborate a little on what you're looking for, perhaps there are some more generic solutions that would also serve.

For example, some of the calibration recall packages have capability to link directly to specifications (which you need to have available on line somewhere).

As I work for a Fortune 100 company, they build many of their own on-line spec packages (which I can not detail here). I have very superficial exposure to thread gage cals. What I recall is testing them on a profilometer or some sort of comparator. So if I perceive correctly, what you are looking for primarily is an easy to use souce for tolerance specs, measurement points, etc.

One possibility could even be a package such as METCAL (put out by Fluke - not a plug for Fluke; this is the one I am familiar with). METCAL is an automated cal package designed to automatically operate instruments involved in the cal process with cal steps on screen for the operator. But in the case of a mechanical gage such as a thread gage, METCAL (or other similar packages) can be used solely as an operator interface (without the automated instruments connected to the computer). You would simply need to write the procedures in a structured (fairly easy to use) language imbedded in the software.

Depending upon exactly what you need the software to do, there are a number of options.