Recalculating RPN (FMEA Risk Priority Number) - Customer Request

Moncia

Quite Involved in Discussions
HI All

I have a question which might seem trivial to some. As i mentioned before i am new to the PPAP stuff

This is only my Second PPAP - first i did back in 2008 and remember nothing

so we submitted our PPAP
all good - customer liked it

oops - i am looking at the FMEA book and i just answered my own question

i wanted to ask you - when customer asked us to recalculate RPN - which number to lower - Severity, Occurrence or Detection

but i see in the example in the book - they lowered Occurrence

so i know you lower Occurrence - but why??

who knows PPAP - who can explain it to me
or direct me to some reading material - classes
anything

i have no idea what i'm doing and i have to do two more PPAPs within next month

:frust:

Englishman Abroad

Involved In Discussions
Monica,

Very briefly

Whether you revise the severity, occurence or detection will depend on what you have changed in your process.

If you have changed the design of the part to reduce the effect of failure (e.g. from an effect of product safety, to making a undesirable noise) you could revised the Severity rating.

If you have improved the manufacturing process capability, to make less bad parts then the problem will occur less, and so you should revise the occurence rating.

If you have invested in an automatic 100% inspection machine instead of your half blind human inspector then you should revise the detection rating as you will be more sure that the defective parts will be detected.

You should put the changes and revised ratings on the right hand side of the FMEA form.

You should in general not revise the severity on the PFMEA unless the design has been changed to change the effects of the failure.

Moncia

thank you
that makes sense

so this is a process FMEA and we improved the process so in this case i will lower the occurrence

thank you

Moncia

ok

thank you