Targets and Objectives - How to Measure Targets and Objectives

K

kpage

I am pretty new to ISO 14001 and am going over the targets and objectives.
Where the standard asks if they are measureable, what exactly does that mean? My company has been using internal audits and management reviews as the answer.

RoxaneB

Change Agent and Data Storyteller
Super Moderator
Re: Targets and Objectives - How to Measure Them

Where the standard asks if they are measureable, what exactly does that mean? My company has been using internal audits and management reviews as the answer.

kpage - I have moved your post into its own thread as it has it little to do with the subject in the thread where you originally posted it.

Welcome to the world of ISO 14001...is your Organization planning on providing you training on this very subject? Hopefully so...this way, you'll be able to gain answers to many of your questions.

Have you also tried using the Search function (upper right) here in the Cove? We've had many discussions on this matter before, I'm certain. As well, scroll to the bottom of this thread - there are some related threads listed there.

At the end of the day however, measurable objectives and targets means that you must have some means of determining whether or not you actually achieved what you set out to do.

Think of the Plan-Do-Check-Act cycle...

Plan - Set Objectives and Targets and the necessary resources (5W1H) to achieve them.

Do - Carry out the 5W1H - who, what, when, where, why, how in case you were wondering.

Check - Enter in results. Are you meeting the objectives and targets?

Act - If you meeting planned results, carry on. If you are not, replan your strategy, resources, direction, etc.

That was a very simple answer. Hopefully, when you go on a course to learn more about ISO 14001, your question will be answered in better detail...although, I'm certain the Cove members will add more responses here.

D

dhammonds