GD&T True Position interpretation - True Position FCF on a B/P

Q

QC Rick

I have yet another odd True Position FCF on a B/P (Go figure eh? :rolleyes: )
As follows:
2x Dia. .184-.190
[TP | Dia. .010m | A ]

One of the holes is Datum C (Where the feature dimension is noted) and the other is Datum B.
How does the above True Position control Basic dimensions on both features?

Stijloor

Leader
Super Moderator
Re: GD&T: True Position interpretation

I have yet another odd True Position FCF on a B/P (Go figure eh? :rolleyes: )
As follows:
2x Dia. .184-.190
[TP | Dia. .010m | A ]

One of the holes is Datum C (Where the feature dimension is noted) and the other is Datum B.
How does the above True Position control Basic dimensions on both features?

Can you make a sketch, and post it here?

We are "picture people.":D

Stijloor.

Q

QC Rick

Im no artist :cool:
Datum A is the surface of the view

Attachments

• GDT 1.JPG
    GDT 1.JPG
    15.1 KB · Views: 306

Paul F. Jackson

Quite Involved in Discussions

The "2X" designation makes the two holes a pattern... which means there are two 0.10 cylindrical tolerance zones... oriented to datum feature |A| and spaced their basic distance apart that the axis of both holes must reside within. Furthermore the size of the tolerance zone is variable with respect to the size of the oriented "actual mating envelope" of each hole.

Basically the note controls the spread between the holes while oriented to |A| and the upper tolerance limit is variable with respect to size.

2 holes with a size of 0.184 , perfectly oriented to |A|, would have a spread that equals 1.80 +/- 0.10.

2 holes with a size of 0.190 , perfectly oriented to |A|, would have a spread that equals 1.80 +/- 0.16.

Paul

Last edited:
D

David DeLong

I agree with Paul that the 2 holes are a pattern to each other in a RFS (regardless of feature size) and perpendicular to datum A.