Internal Audit Requirements - All clauses and subclauses covered over the audit cycle

R

Robert Soares

I am new to the ISO 13485 Standard, by recently joining a company that upgraded in September to the 2003 standard. My background is mainly in automotive (TS 16949) which requires each clause (and subclause) of the standard be covered within the internal audit cycle (typically 1 year). For instance, I would need to show evidence that subclause "7.5.3.3 Status Identification" was covered during my internal audit cycle. Is this a requirement in ISO 13485, that all clauses and subclauses be covered over the audit cycle, and that there is documented evidence to support it?

Any help is appreciated.

Bob Soares

Al Rosen

Leader
Super Moderator
No, what's required is a process approach. What I have done is identified the processes and the applicable clauses of the standard. We then audit the processes. Those processes that require additional attention are audited more frequently, but each is audited at least annually.

R

Robert Soares

Internal Audit Requirements

Al,

Thanks for the quick response. In TS, the auditors expect to see in the audit report and/or checklist that each and every subclause (or process identifier as they call them) were audited within the cycle. Sounds like in ISO 13485 as long as the processes have been identified and audited once during the cycle we should be ok?

However, I wasn't here at the time, but the 3rd party auditor wrote a nonconformance that there was no evidence that Risk Management under 7.1 was completed. Doesn't this suggest that he was looking at specific clauses to be covered, or does Risk Management need to be an identified process?

Bob

Randy

Super Moderator
Regardless of system or scheme it must be shown by every organization that every "shall" has been met as required. The only way the verify this is to audit the processes established to meet the "shalls".

Figure it out from there.

AndyN

Moved On
Hey Robert.........