Six Sigma green belt and black belt online certification question

B

buckwolf

I started this thread to avoid hijacking the online college thread.

I have been researching different options for my Six Sigma green belt and black belt certifications. My current company will not pay for the courses; so obviously, I would like to do it for as little money as possible. I have looked at attending some courses at the University of Utah from which I would emerge victorious with my new certifications. Unfortunately, the total cost to progress to black belt level would be around $10,000.00. I have also located a couple of online courses. One is from ASQ and would I assume just be the exams, the other is from another source. If I chose either of these options, I would be able to do it for around $1500.00. When I look at the numbers I can only assume that the difference is a lack of instruction. I currently work as a Lean Coordinator and I am rally just looking to boost my skills and resume. Any advice would be much appreciated.

yodon

Leader
Super Moderator
I looked into it briefly a while back and ran across these guys as a relatively low-cost option:

http://www.value-train.com/

I have no idea about the quality of the course. I think they tour the country but I believe they also offer some web-based options.

I'd like to hear what options you come across and how things turn out so please post back as things unfold.

S

Sandra Gauvin

I wonder if the difference is that you learn the methodologies and tools but don't have to apply it to receive a certificate for the lesser priced course?