Interviewing an External Auditor? Choose a Registrar for ISO 9001 Registration

Z

zekeQA

I am trying to choose a company for ISO 9001 Registration. I have never done this before, but have read a lot here in the Cove about bad experiences.

I had a gentleman in here a couple of weeks ago that I was interested in using for an external auditor. He did not like the format of my quality manual. He complained because I had more than six procedures. He wanted me to call many of my procedures work instructions.

There are a lot of auditor complaints out there and I cannot afford to have my system fail because someone is not process auditing or is still auditing to ISO9001:1994 or their own personal ideas of how a company should be run!

I am going to interview other auditors (many who are not local and so cannot just drop in for a visit). I wrote some questions out and want some comments.

I wrote these questions based on topics I have seen here and to confuse the auditor as to my position. That is why some of the questions come from different angles. I know where I stand, but in the end I don’t want to bias the auditor. I ask open ended questions to find any personal vendettas and then ask other questions to see if there will be an immediate bias for or against my system.

I want the audit to be an accurate assessment of our system.

Questions:

What is your method for auditing a system?
What do you like to see in a quality manual?
Do you like to see the standard copied verbatim in the quality manual?
Do you think a company can effectively manage a system with a one page quality manual?
What do you think of a company that has included more than the "required" minimum?
How many procedures are required?
What is your judgment concerning work instructions vs. procedures?
What if a “work instruction” is labeled as a procedure?
What will you do if I debate a finding with you?
What if I use a document control method that you have never seen before, but it works as in a wiki?