Advantages and Disadvantages (costs) of Process FMEA

H

Hipolit

Hello All,
I’m a new member of Esmar forum, so I’ll start my first thread form a short introduction. I work as a Process Engineer in one of the automotive parts supplier (switches).

Looking through your experience in creating, maintaining and updating PFMEA’s. What's your view of Advantages and Disadvantages (cost) of performing the mentioned analysis?

Last edited by a moderator:

Stijloor

Leader
Super Moderator
Hello All,
I’m a new member of Esmar forum, so I’ll start my first thread form a short introduction. I work as a Process Engineer in one of the automotive parts supplier (switches).

Looking through your experience in creating, maintaining and updating PFMEA’s. What's your view of Advantages and Disadvantages (cost) of performing the mentioned analysis?

Can someone help our new Member?

Has anyone performed an FMEA cost-benefit analysis?

Thank you!

Stijloor.

Jim Wynne

Leader
Admin
Hello All,

I assume you're referring to PFMEA documents, which are the output of the PFMEA process. Some form of risk analysis is almost always a good thing, and is often done without thinking it about it as FMEA.

The value of the document is roughly proportionate to the conscientiousness of the process. It can serve to help avoid pitfalls both in the present process and similar processes in the future, which is where updating is important. If the process and the document are viewed as nothing more than annoyances, little good will come from them outside of filling space in a PPAP submission.

What's your view of the advantages and disadvantages?

AndyN

Moved On
In my experience, here in Detroit, the costs were pretty easy to determine - if your PFMEA failed. If your product caused a line stop in a 'class A' assembly plant (making cars etc) the supplier was backcharged $60,000/hour!