Minitab Error - * ERROR * Unbalanced Design - Unbalanced Anova

J

jhbalaji

I was going through this tutorial

I don't know whats wrong i followed the same command line as said by the professor but still i am getting as

* ERROR * Unbalanced design. A cross tabulation of your factors will show
* where the unbalance exists.
Can someone please help me on this?
I am new to minitab and anova!

Thanks!

Attachments

• elsalinity.zip
    1.5 KB · Views: 139
Last edited by a moderator:

Miner

Forum Moderator
Leader
Admin
Re: Unbalanced Anova

I moved this thread to the Minitab software sub-forum.

Can you attach your Minitab project file? You will have to zip it first before attaching it. This would make it easier to tell where you went wrong.

Unbalanced means that the number of results per experimental run is not equal. Either the data file was in error, or you are using the wrong routine in Minitab.

J

jhbalaji

I have done it
Its the same file available in the tutorial site!

Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:
B

Barbara B

I have done it.
You've attached a Minitab worksheet (elsalinity.MTW), not a Minitab project (file ending .MPJ).

Could you please attach the Minitab project so we could take a look at the steps you've done so far? Thanks :)

Miner

Forum Moderator
Leader
Admin
The data file is fine, so we need to see how you approached the analysis to determine how you arrived at this error message.

J

jhbalaji

The data file is fine, so we need to see how you approached the analysis to determine how you arrived at this error message.

I used the MiniTab command line

MTB > ANOVA c4 = c1 c2 c3 c1*c2 c1*c3 c2*c3 c1*c2*c3;
SBC> Means c1 c2 c1*c2 c1*c2*c3.

Its showed me unbalanced error!
Balanced ANOVA approach i tried!

B

Barbara B

Maybe someone copied the wrong command (ANOVA instead of GLM) or copied only a part of the data into the worksheet. This is no balanced ANOVA.