Rick Van Mell "Super Skipper"

H

hausser

Date: Wednesday, October 08, 2003 12:17:48 AM
To: Wallace's
Subject: Re: TOSEBO

Dave,

Amazing stuff you can find on the Internet!

I don't recall the exact years, but I think it was 3 (maybe only 2?) 1956 sounds like it would have been my last year as I was a high school freshman then.

On a hunch, I just walked to the garage, pulled open a file drawer and laid my hand on my "plaque" with 1955 on it, and achievement bars for Able Seaman, Skipper, Baseball, Dramatics, Canoeing and Tennis. My last year I was an Assistant Chief with the name "Heeling Over" (sailing was & still is my sport).

I remember many good canoe trips down the White River, including one camper (whose name I don't remember) who freaked out when we went under some low hanging trees and brushed a big spider into the canoe. He picked up a paddle and started pounding away on the inside of the wooden canoe trying to kill it! There were the Sunday rides in the camp truck into Onekama to get ice cream cones or spend our week allowance. At least once I was allowed, with another crew to sail one of the snipes into town.

It was there I got my first training in horseback riding, and always enjoyed the woods. We made root beer from sassafras roots, and there was the annual hunt in the woods for the High Behind (advertised to new campers as a small animal with a high back) - actually a wooden green shape with black spots as I remember.

Yep, remember Coach Roski (spelling ?) and daughter Barb - who pitched in on making root beer and I think came sailing with me once or twice. Also remember Ross Taylor. The other names you mention don't come to mind, but I think there was a George Hauser who beat me in sailing one year.