Uncertainty of Measurement vs. Tolerance

T

TitaniumMan425

Our scale calibration vendor provided a cert on an out of calibration instrument. The tolerance at 500 grams is reported as 499.99 to 500.01 (+/- 0.01 grams) The test result was 500.07, so it failed. However, the "Uncertainty of Measurement" was reported as +/- 0.617 grams. How can a tolerance that tight be evaluated with an uncertainty that high? I'm no expert on measurement systems and perhaps I'm interpreting this improperly, but it just doesn't seem right.

T

TitaniumMan425

Re: Uncertainty of Measurment vs. Tolerance

I called the vendor and asked them about this. They said it was a typo and the uncertaintly should have been +/- 0.068 g. But this is still almost 7 times the tolerance. It still doesn't seem logical.

S

silentrunning

TM, who specified a tolerance of +/- 0.01 grams? Was it your customer or are you working to a certain specification? What standard are the scale people working to? Do they have any certification such as A2LA or ISI/IEC 17025:2005? I agree that this uncertainty seems to make the calibration all but worthless.

T

TitaniumMan425

TM, who specified a tolerance of +/- 0.01 grams? Was it your customer or are you working to a certain specification? What standard are the scale people working to? Do they have any certification such as A2LA or ISI/IEC 17025:2005? I agree that this uncertainty seems to make the calibration all but worthless.
Doug,

We did not specify the tolerance. I asked the vendor about this when I called him. He said it was defined in the procedure (NIST Handbook 44,g,1 STD in this case) They are certified to ISO/IEC 17025:2005. They did say that we could specify an alternative tolerance. I don't know that we need it as tight as the standard calls for. That being said, this seems like the type of question the vendor should raise when performing the calibration.

TM

M

Mike Linn