Appropriate Lean Six Sigma Green Belt Project Proposal?

T

Thoops76

Hi All,
I have recently started training for a Lean Six Sigma Green belt certification within my Organisation. Im currently at the early stages i.e. Define / Measure and i am being introduced to tools such as SIPOC and process mapping.

As part of the training / certification i need to complete a Lean Six sigma project that has a defined ROI. One issue, the project that i have chosen to work on over the coming months will be very beneficial to our customers however, it is currently difficult to put a $$$ cost savings on the improvements that may be implemented.

I work in a lab within a large organisation. Customers submit material for analysis and indicate a "need date" for final results on the submission form. I recently pulled some data to compare the "need date" versus "completion date" and was very surprised to see that an extremely large percentage of jobs were completed days after the customers "need date" was due. On average the customers results were overdue by 4 days.

With this in mind it became clear that my Lean Six Sigma project would be based on streamlining the lab process and removing non value added tasks to ensure we meet and if possible exceed our customers needs.

Customers such as process engineers depend on analysis results to assist them in making decisions regarding the continued use of manufacturing equipment or whether it requires further investigation.

The big question. Is this appropriate for a Lean Six Sigma project proposal as i am currently unable to place a $$$ cost savings / ROI on possible process improvements?

As stated previously im a newbie to Six Sigma tools and methodologies so any help or assistance is extreemly appreciated.:thanx:

A

Al Dyer

Thoops76

Welcome,

Just a thought:

Could it be that the customer already knows that there is a "lag time" in your process between "need date" and "completion date" and adjusts accordingly?

Al...

H

hongtruong