When you're not Lean enough for JIT (Just In Time)

D

dgeesaman

First off, I'm a product design engineer thinking about big quality / production concepts, so please forgive me if I'm running the buzzwords wrong. But this stuff is much more than buzzwords so I'm hoping to find guidance here.

My company makes custom assemblies of machinery. Obviously we work hard to build as much of the custom assembly from parts that are "standard" to us, but many orders contain one-off machined/welded components in a variety of stainless materials. We use a JIT ordering philosophy with everything and are applying Lean principles to the supply chain. We make none of the components ourselves - we design, purchase components, assemble, test, and ship the machinery.

Lean and JIT are being expanded and seem to make great improvements with our "standard" parts that have regular demand. We are setting up supplier agreements to stock and replenish and getting competitive pricing, higher quality, and lower overhead than before when every batch was a purchasing-managed competition.

But the one-off parts are stubborn. It is my untrained observation that orders containing these one-off parts never ship on time, usually because one of those parts has a quality or delivery issue. I can sympathize with the vendors who make these one-off parts because there is only time/money to buy the materials to make one, and our system demands perfect quality/delivery on that one-off part that to them, is essentially a prototype. Stack up a few such parts per order and the statistical likelihood of shipping on time plummets. If my vendors are only 90% on-time/in-spec on these custom parts, and I have 5 custom parts in a machine, then my probability of being ready to build on time is .90^5 = 59%, correct?

What measures might we implement to address this issue? In the near term, I can only imagine that modifying the JIT logic is required to allow some recovery opportunity.

David

Kales Veggie