SPC on the shop floor - We are a job shop

C

CMfgT

I have been collecting SPC historical data for about 6 months on our customers “key features”. We are a job shop, so we have many setups, but as long as they run the parts on the mean many parts are repeatable and stable. From the historical data, I can set control limits, but I am not sure what to do to keep the operators between the limits. What do you guys/gals do? Do you have a form and make the operators manually graph the data. That’s what I am leaning towards, but I would have to make different graphs. Does anyone have a simple form or solution to this? I don’t want to just collect numbers anymore, I want the operators to be aware of what is going on visually. Currently we just collect SPC numbers so they are available if our customers ask, and I run control charts and capability on minitab to verify we have a quality products, but I am missing the Process Control of SPC.

Thanks

A

andygr

Re: SPC on the shop floor.

The reason your customers are asking for SPC on Keys is that they want you to actualy use the tool. Granted in some cases they put it in the contract because it is "the thing to do" but since the requirement is there if your customer askes to see the data that you have you will not be able to show that there was proper action taken on the values that occured outside the limits and they will call you to task on that as quickly as not doing any SPC.
Set the tool up for the operators-make it easy- and then spend some time with them so that they know how the tool works and can see a benifit to their job and pride in making good parts. If your data shows cpk extreemly high talk to you customer about droping the feature from spc as there is little value in the tracking. Pick a feature that will have value.
:2cents:

Bev D

Heretical Statistician
Leader
Super Moderator