Is there an OSHA Safety Accreditation?

G

Gmzita

I am an ISO 17025 QA Manager. I have just been asked to assume the additional responsibilities of Safety Manager starting in January 2014. So I am spending the rest of December cramming in every possible OSHA Webinar I can find :)popcorn:) and interviewing possible Vendors for Software to assist with OSHA requirements and HAZCOM.

Yesterday while discussing a possible Vendor with my soon to be new Manager - who is also new to the USA via the UK, he asked if there is an Accreditation available for OSHA General Safety. I told him that so far I had not come across anything like that but then I thought - maybe other Covers may know.

Does anyone know if there is such a body in the USA for OSHA General Safety?

Any help would be appreciated.

G

Gmzita

Re: OSHA Safety Accreditation??

Thanks Randy.

I am on the OSHA website and found the information page/s regarding the Program. However, I cannot seem to determine if there is an application cost. Do you know or should I just make a call?

D

db

Also, don't forget that your state might have its own OSHA department. In Michigan, MIOSHA is the main force. I think the following link might be beneficial, since you appear to be in PA.

http ://www .portal .state .pa. us/portal/server.pt/community/occupational_and_industrial_safety/10509 - DEAD LINK UNLINKED (404)

Last edited by a moderator:

Steve Prevette

Deming Disciple
Leader
Super Moderator
Re: OSHA Safety Accreditation??

Yep...The OSHA VPP program only offered by US OSHA

I do not believe there is an application cost, though there are indirect costs in terms of letting in the VPP review team, and once you are "STAR" status you are expected to suppport others' VPP reviews.

Best thing to do is contact your local VPPPA region (https://www.vpppa.org/). I am sure they will be able to introduce you to a local company who is STAR who can show you the ropes.

Hershal

Metrologist-Auditor
Trusted Information Resource