Applying for FDA 510(k) for 21 CFR 892.2050

T

Taimoore

Hello Everyone,
I'm completely new to the FDA regulations. We are a very small company (2-3 ppl) and wanted to know how we can apply for FDA 510(k) submission for a DEVICE II moderate level 21 CFR PACS device (892.2050) category.

There are part of the software which are off the shelf and open source as well.
What are requirements and steps for me to study, read, consider and to look into for a product developed from OFF THE SHELF software?
What code of FDA regulations do I need to consider?

I would really like your help and guidance. At the moment I would prefer that I learn the process and then perhaps later look into a consultant.

Thanks for listening...
Cheers
Tim:)

Stijloor

Leader
Super Moderator
Hello Everyone,
I'm completely new to the FDA regulations. We are a very small company (2-3 ppl) and wanted to know how we can apply for FDA 510(k) submission for a DEVICE II moderate level 21 CFR PACS device (892.2050) category.

What are requirements and steps for me to study, read, consider and to look into for a product developed from OFF THE SHELF software?

I would really like your help and guidance. At the moment I would prefer that I learn the process and then perhaps later look into a consultant.

Thanks for listening...
Cheers

Is there someone willing to help Tim?

Thank you very much.

Stijloor.

B

blewispunk

Hello Tim,

I have submitted a couple of 510ks for class II LLZ moderate level of concern image processing software devices containing both off the shelf and open source components.

You should definitely review the following guidance documents from FDA:
1. Guidance for the Submission of Premarket Notifications for Medical Image Management Devices
2. Determination of Intended Use for 510(k) devices (this is a bit dated but is helpful)
3. Format for Traditional and Abbreviated 510(k)s

Also, the FDA section on Device Advice has some good info walking you through the 510k process.