Correct Length to Measure Surface Roughness

S

Spacewalker

Dear Sirs,
this is my first time in this forum, and this is my first question.
Let' start. Our plant produce some kind of components for engine chains, one of these components are pins. After two stage of the production process, we check the surface roughness, the first after grinding process and the second after finishing process (tipically superfinish). We have in our STD the reference value for Ra - Rz - Rt, the cutoff and the filter to be use, but is not reported the sampling lenght.
We have pins with several lenght starting from 8mm up to 28mm; the question is: can we use the same sampling lenght for all the pins or is better to use a particular sampling lenght in functions of the lenght?
Thanx in advance.
Dario

Last edited by a moderator:
D

DrM2u

Now this is a good question! I am not aware of any standards that specify the length over which to check roughness on a pin. The part print would be your best starting point. Usually part prints specify roughness over the full length or just over certain area(s) of the part. If the print does not specify a certain length then you should check the length of the whole pin. After all, you are sampling only a portion of the area anyway. A circle has an infinite number of points therefore a cylinder has an infinite number of lengthwise lines that you can check. Assuming that you use centerless grinding and superfinishing, any significant surface variations will show radially, so it makes sense to check roughness lengthwise.