Definition Performance Based Auditing - What is the definition?

D

dashmen

Hi everyone. It's my first post . I visit this forum almost every day for half a year and I think the forum is thoughtful and a great place to understand "quality". :read:
Now my question is, what's your understand of the "performance based auditing"?

W

WALLACE

Welcome Dashmen,
You'll find lots of invaluable resources at the Cove.
Dashmen, what is your definition of a performance based audit?
Your answer shall allow the Covers to get a baseline on your understandings and interpretations.
Wallace.

D

dashmen

Jennifer, I am studying the article. Thanks for your links.

Wallace, the situation is, one customer ask us have an audit on one of their suppliers, they give the checklist and ask that the audit must be a "performance based audit". I reviewed the checklist and feel that seems like the "process audit" . So I want some opinion and can ready for the audit.

Jen Kirley

Quality and Auditing Expert
Leader
Admin
dashmen said:
Jennifer, I am studying the article. Thanks for your links.

Wallace, the situation is, one customer ask us have an audit on one of their suppliers, they give the checklist and ask that the audit must be a "performance based audit". I reviewed the checklist and feel that seems like the "process audit" . So I want some opinion and can ready for the audit.
This is as I suspected.

One of the criticisms I have read of current registration standards (both ISO and the specialty standards that resemble its structure) is that audits of systems per these standards are based on evidence that the system is being followed. How effective and with what value are not questions for the auditor--the auditee is only responsible to show the system is functioning within specified parameters.