Methods used to calculate Cpk value - Need help for Cpk Calculation

jerry_Malaysia

Quite Involved in Discussions
Dear all,

I am new in learning about SPC. And I noticed that there are many methods that could be used to calculate Cpk value. However, when i input the same 50 data into different methods, Cpk value obtained are different. Please refer to attached file, that i have used same set of data for 4 different types of calculation methods.

Question is,
1) Is there anything wrong with the calculation method that i use?
2) Which is the correct / more suitable method to calculate Cpk value? Why?
3) What is the reason for getting different cpk value by using different methods?

:confused::bonk:

Attachments

• 4 Types of Cpk Calculations.xls
    125 KB · Views: 1,569

Bev D

Heretical Statistician
Leader
Super Moderator
Re: Need help for Cpk Calculation

welcome to the cove!

first I would recommend reading some of the excellent posts on this topic (they can be found by using the search feature or by scrolling to the bottom of the page.)

In general each method is designed for a specific situation and will - by design - give you different answers. In order to know which method is the appropriate one, we would need to know at a minimum:
  • What is the process?
  • How did you sample the process? (random or structured subgroups?)
    • If a structured subgroup, what was the subgroup size?
  • Is your process in statistical control?
  • Why do you want to know the capability? are you trying to predict defect rates or are you interested in the spread of the process vs tolerance range?

there is no attachment in this post as I believe you have to hit a minimum of 5 or so posts in order to attach a file...

Bev D

Heretical Statistician
Leader
Super Moderator

Ah now I see - you have posted the attachment in a new thread. OK.
my original questions concerning the process and sampling scheme still apply. This is essential to knowing which method to use.