AS9100 Certification of a Non-Aerospace Company

K

kmalysiak

Hello to all Aerospace folks,
on the website available IAQG ICOP Resolutions Logs there is an active and open resolution for AS9104:
#29, dated to 04/10/2005
"OPMT agreed that non-aerospace companies can apply for and be certified to 9100/9110/9120 within the scope of the standard."
with status:
"Published for clarification going forward. Resolution to be closed upon update to AS9104 with clarification of eligibility for 9100/9110/9120 certification."
So as long as this is not published in standard (and certainly is not in AS91004/1/2/3), there is no way to get as9100 certification for non-aerospace company?
The base for my question is the following issue. I work in manufacturing plant certified for many years to ISO9001, ISO/TS16949 with no aerospace products. And the mgm policy is the following:
-get AS9100 certification (with all the necessary actions to get our existing qms along AS, which is in my opinion not possible without existing aerospace products/ customers)
-look for aerospace customers / products
So basically the idea is to certify first manufacture next (which is odd, but that is the policy)
Apart from the #29 resolution is there any other way to do this?
Best regards,
Chris

Big Jim

Admin
In the forward of AS9100C it clearly states that AS9100C can be used by any company that wants a more robust system than ISO 9001 provides.

"While primarily developed for the aviation, space and defense industry, the standard can also be used in other industry sectors where a quality management system with additional requirements over an ISO 9001 system is needed."

Perhaps part of your confusion is that TS16949 does require that you be producing parts for current production of new cars or trucks before you can become registered to TS16949. No such requirement exists for AS9100C.