Medical devices are CE mark but not sold in EU - Need to comply with REACH?

M

Mike Blanc

Dear All :bigwave:,

My company is going to develop a medical device that will be sold outside EU. Do I need to comply with EU REACH regulations?

My understand is EU REACH is only applicable to medical devices sold into EU market.

Looking forward to your reply.

pkost

Trusted Information Resource
Where is the product manufacturered? Is it ever imported into the EU?

I am not an expert on REACH, but I think it applies to the manufacture and production stages (not just placing on the market)

M

Mike Blanc

Hi, pkost,

The product is manufactured in India and it will not be imported to EU. The CE marking is only for marketing purpose.

L

Lutz Born

Hi,
Of course, if you want to CE mark your medical device, you have to fulfill the whole regulations which applies for the device!
It is not only a label. With this CE mark, you say that this medical device fulfills all the regulations of the council directive 93/42/EEC, Annex I, essential principles.

R

Ron Boumans

A product can only have one CE mark. The CE mark means that the product is compliant with ALL applicable directives. So it is not possible to select some Directives and ignore others. In your case it should also be compliant with RoHS (and possibly others).

pkost

A product can only have one CE mark. The CE mark means that the product is compliant with ALL applicable directives. So it is not possible to select some Directives and ignore others. In your case it should also be compliant with RoHS (and possibly others).

Why do you think that you have to comply with all directives? It has been indicated that the product is not sold in the EU and is not imported into the EU. The directives are therefore not a requirement and cannot be enforced

The potential risk is if the local markets where the product is being sold consider the presence of a CE mark to be deceptive marketing

R

Ron Boumans

Hi Pkost,