Questions regarding Non-Conformance, Corrective Action and Preventive Action

B

bill1025

Hello all, I'm currently creating procedures for a company that I'm doing a master's placement in, and I'm new to quality, so I hope you experts can enlighten me. Here are my questions regarding non-conformance, correction, corrective action, preventive action.
Question 1:
I do know that in the case that a non-conforming product is identified, authorised personnel need to decide whether a corrective action is needed. However, in an internal audit, a date should be agreed between auditor and auditee when a follow up action will be taken to make sure the corrective action has been implemented. Does this mean a corrective action is required for each non-conformance identified during an audit?

Question2:
My understanding of correction, corrective action and preventive action is correction is a one-time thing which is taken to correct a nonconformance(some people call it containment?): corrective action is taken to prevent the same nonconformance from happening again; preventive action is taken to make sure that potential nonconformances from happening for the first time. Is this correct?

Question 3:
The company I'm working for uses a 8D corrective/preventive plan to address non-conformances, and I was looking at the knowledge of this 8D approach and it's quite confusing for me. STEP 6 implies that corrective action has already been implemented and the effectiveness has already been verified AND STEP 7 implies that further actions should be taken to to prevent recurrence. Isn't Step 7 a repeat of Step 6? Or Does this 8D plan incorporate corrective action and preventive action?

Hope you guys understand my questions and thanks in advance!

qusys

Trusted Information Resource
Re: Questions regarding non-conformance, corretive action and preventive action

For the first two questions, the response is yes.
For the third, your assumption on thepreventive actions is correct.