Responsibility and Authority in a QMS - Approval of Supplier Accreditation

R

Rakeru

Hi everyone!

The truth is I have a different question and I just dont know how to raise it in here because I am just new in using this site..

Anyway, if you could just help me understand some things, please help me so. The problem is, Is it okay to let somebody outside from ones area do the approval of other sections responsibility? The specific example is, the Head of Administration wanted to do the Approval of Suppliers accreditation which is part of the Purchasing section. But this move is being dictated by the General Manager. For me, this is not right. What can you say about this?

Jim Wynne

Leader
Admin
Welcome to the Cove. :agree1:

As to your question, you should have responsibility and authority for approvals documented in your system, and your dilemma is the reason for that. It's difficult for anyone here to know who should be doing approvals because we don't know anything about your company's administrative hierarchy and potential political issues. If it's not clear who has responsibility and authority for process or document approvals, that's something you need to get established.

R

Rakeru

Re: Are Job Descriptions and Organizational Charts Controlled Documents?

to Jim Wynne,

Thanks for your feedback.

The truth is we have clear procedure for Purchasing matters and clearly the approvals will come from Purchasing Supervisor. As for the Administration responsibility, the approval of Suppliers Accreditation is not included in its resposibility. But now suddenly the General Manager is appointing him(the Admin Manager) the right to approved Suppliers Accreditation. I want to disagree with our General Manager but is that wise to do so. Or should I suggest that this Administrative Manager must be part of the Purchasing group to be able to do the approval.

Pancho

wikineer
Super Moderator