Which Normality Test more acceptable to FDA; Also, Non-Normal Threshold?

S

snakepitt

We are in the process of determining samples sizes for various tests to support an FDA submission. Prior data are being analyzed to do this, and also being checked using Minitab for normality. Two questions:

1. Is one of the three tests (Anderson-Darling, Ryan-Joiner [similar to Shapiro-Wilk], Kolmogorov-Smirnov) more acceptable to FDA than the others? I have found some background on each that speaks to application but it did not help me. I did find a thread in the QA forum from one "Statistical Steven" several years back in which he commented that he prefers Shapiro-Wilk for sample sizes greater than ~50 and Kolmogorov-Smirnov for smaller Ns. Does anyone have additional input re FDA preference? What about A-D?

2. Between "non-normal" threshold of P=0.050 and P=0.100, is one more accepted than the other?

Thanks for the help.

Miner

Forum Moderator
Leader
Admin
My background is not FDA, but is in statistics. So I cannot advise what is acceptable to the FDA. I will however explain some of the differences between your options.

These articles explain the basis for each of the three tests. The Anderson-Darling and Ryan-Joiner tests are equally powerful. Power = 1 - Beta Risk. The more powerful the test the less likely that you will miss a truly non-normal distribution. The Kolmogorov-Smirnov test has fallen out of favor in many (though not all) circles, primarily because it is less powerful than the other two tests. This means it is more likely to miss a truly non-normal distribution. If I were to guess, I would say that the FDA would be more likely to accept the first two tests, but as I said, I am not an FDA expert.