IEC 62304 Compliance - How is compliance to IEC 62304 verified?

R

RickQualityGuy

I am a project manager for a company that produces wi-fi radios that are integrated into medical devices, i.e., IV infusion pumps, portable cardiac monitors. These wi-fi radios have embedded software such as, device drivers and configuration utilities that we develop and supply to the medical device manufacturers. This software interfaces with the medical devices software developed by the medical device manufacturer.

The medical device manufacturers that are our customers have enquired if we develop our SW to the IEC 62304 standard. We do not need FDA approval but our customers require it.

My question is how is compliance to IEC 62304 verified? Is it done by 3rd party auditor (similiar to ISO 9001) and you are awarded a certificate of approval/compliance? Or...

Do we provide the medical device manufacturers a statement stating the SW was developed IAW IEC 62304. Or...

Send the medical device manufacturers a copy of our ISO 9001 Quality Manual that has factored into it the requirements of IEC 62304?

I know this was a little wordy; but I wanted to be thorough. Thanks in advance.

Stijloor

Leader
Super Moderator
I am a project manager for a company that produces wi-fi radios that are integrated into medical devices, i.e., IV infusion pumps, portable cardiac monitors. These wi-fi radios have embedded software such as, device drivers and configuration utilities that we develop and supply to the medical device manufacturers. This software interfaces with the medical devices software developed by the medical device manufacturer.

The medical device manufacturers that are our customers have inquired if we develop our SW to the IEC 62304 standard. We do not need FDA approval but our customers require it.

My question is how is compliance to IEC 62304 verified? Is it done by 3rd party auditor (similar to ISO 9001) and you are awarded a certificate of approval/compliance? Or...