Newbie Capability question

B

Bjourne

Hello,

Seems to be a very intellectual group of guys here :)

I'm new here to this forum(I usually just visit and participate in security forums such as Wilderssecurity and MalwareTips) and I just wanted to know more about Capability study. I am not an engineering graduate but have been exposed to semiconductor manufacturing process way back 2007 as I work in molding department for IC encapsulation. I want to learn more about the process side of things in our company but sad to say there isn't any training available or if there is I am darn busy at the production line(most of the time).

I have some notes that I got from some of our engineers. Some notes that they use for Capability studies but I am having a hard time learning it. Can I post it here so someone might check if I did it wrong...?

This is a sort of self-studying just in case I get the slot for promotion or can transfer to another company...just wanna learn more and not be stuck being a technician. I hope you understand.

Thanks for understanding.

Regards,

Bjourne

dgriffith

Quite Involved in Discussions
Re: Newbie question

. . . just wanna learn more and not be stuck being a technician. I hope you understand.

Thanks for understanding.

Regards,

Bjourne
It's good that you want to learn more. Wish I'd learned so much more when I was younger, and I'm still learning.
However, and I'm sure you didn't mean it the way I'm reading it, but I must come to the aide of the technician. I've been stuck being a technician all my life. Good technicians are needed--who the heck else is going to keep engineers straight? Keep them on their toes by catching their errors? Suggest better ways to implement their napkin designs? Turn their plans into working constructs? Test their ideas, calibrate their instruments, machine their parts, and so on. Most importantly, tell them when they're wrong!
Good technicians keep engineers out of trouble, even if they are stuck. :)