Getting Started - ISO13485:2003 and MDD (Medical Device Directive)

D

DAMAS - 2005

I am a newbe to both ISO13485:2003 and these forums. Firstly thanks heaps for the valuable information contained in this forum that I have been reading prior to registering. Secondly I have been asked to Setup ISO 13485:2003 and have a medical device CE marked - I am in Australia. I have all the standards and have read them so can some one suggest the steps or what order you would tackle it from the beginning considering our product is about 90% complete. The product contains a user interface by means of a software driven touch screen and various other mechanical / electrical components.

My background is not Medical or Qa but rather Documentation/Training and procedure/ process design so I may ask a few more painfull questions.

Thanks Heaps......

A

Aaron Lupo

DAMAS said:
I am a newbe to both ISO13485:2003 and these forums. Firstly thanks heaps for the valuable information contained in this forum that I have been reading prior to registering. Secondly I have been asked to Setup ISO 13485:2003 and have a medical device CE marked - I am in Australia. I have all the standards and have read them so can some one suggest the steps or what order you would tackle it from the beginning considering our product is about 90% complete. The product contains a user interface by means of a software driven touch screen and various other mechanical / electrical components.

My background is not Medical or Qa but rather Documentation/Training and procedure/ process design so I may ask a few more painfull questions.

Thanks Heaps......

Welcome.

Have you looked at the MDD (93-42) or ISO 13485 yet? If not look at the requirements in both those documents. Does your company have a "Quality or Business" System in place now?

Al Rosen

Leader
Super Moderator
DAMAS said:

Thanks Heaps......
Hi DAMAS,

Welcome to The Cove.