ASQ or RAB Auditor Certification - Which is Better? ISO 9001 and ISO 14001

Z

Zuggy

Hi,
This is my forst time posting to the Cove. This is a GREAT place for basic and fundimental questions in the ISO field. I have been working in this field for a bout 8 months and my learning curve has been very steep, my question is I am wondiering which is beter a ASQ or a RAB certification path? I have seen and heard arguments for both. Now I am working with both 9001 and 14001 standards.

Tim

:thanks:

D

dokes

My personal view is that RAB certification is desirable if you plan to work for a registrar, otherwise it has little value. ASQ certification is of more interest to other employers, some who list CQA, CQE, or CQMgr as desired. So, it depends on why you seek certification, and what your short term and long term goals are. It also depends on what you expect to gain from the certification.

howste

Thaumaturge
Trusted Information Resource
Hi Zuggy, and welcome to the Cove.

There really isn't one answer to your question. If you are using it to demonstrate to someone else that you have competence in auditing, pick whichever route they put more stock in. If you are doing it for yourself, I'd probably pick the RAB (RABQSA) route.

Z

Zuggy

In the area of not wanting to be an external auditor or work for a external auditors comapny your saying that ASQ is the way to go. However, ASQ seems only to cover the quality aspect of ISO, I would like to have a cross certification in the 9001 and 14001 areas.

Tim

:thanx:

Wes Bucey

Prophet of Profit
Zuggy said:
In the area of not wanting to be an external auditor or work for a external auditors comapny your saying that ASQ is the way to go. However, ASQ seems only to cover the quality aspect of ISO, I would like to have a cross certification in the 9001 and 14001 areas.

Tim

ASQ doesn't specifically cover ANY Standard in its certifications. A quick look at overview of a CQA will demonstrate my point
ASQ said: