Exclusions clause 7.3 - Our organization doesn?t design products - ISO/TS 16949

M

michield

I am new to the world of QMS and have some problems interpreting clause 7.3 of the ISO/TS 16949. I hope somebody can help me out.

If an organization doesn?t design products, they can exclude clause 7.3.2.1 (product design input) and 7.3.3.1 (product design outputs ? supplemental), correct? And how about clause 7.3.3 (design and development outputs) and 7.3.6.2 (prototype programme)? Can those be excluded?

Thanks for the help!

Stijloor

Leader
Super Moderator
Re: Exclusions clause 7.3 - TS 16949

A Quick Bump!

Can someone help?

Thank you very much!!

L

lk2012

Re: Exclusions clause 7.3 - Our organization doesn?t design products - TS 16949

hi,
it's quite simple.
You have to state this exclusion clearly in your top level Quality Manual in your QMS. List all the clauses your site/ organisation is excluded from and include a detailed justification.
example:
7.3.6.2 Prototype programme - our organisation is not responsible for design. Prototype programme and control plan are controlled by the Design Office.

Just make sure you don't get caught out on one of the clauses like design input because your site might be, for example, packing the product for the customer and this is a part of the design.
hope this helps
LK

jelly1921

Quite Involved in Discussions
No product design activities does NOT mean you can exclude the clauses related to the product design!

The only permitted exclusions for this Technical Specification relate to 7.3 where the organization is not responsible for product design and development.

The responsibility of product design is NOT equal to the activity of product design.

For example, your company does not design the products, but you buy the drawings from someone else (except national/international standards). You do have the responsibility of product design. So you cannot exclude the clauses of product design.