Definition Perishable tooling - Definition - Including PPAP Definition of Perishable tooling

D

duda_enns

Hi folks

It's my first time here.

I work in a fasteners company (bolts and nuts) and we are tier 2. We need to do PPAP to our customers. In the PPAP manual is writen that I have to notify my customer when I change any tool, except "perisable tools". My doubt is: what is "perishable tools"? This case is applicable in our case?

Thaks for help !

J

jmp4429

I think, although someone can correct me if I'm wrong, that this means replacement of wear tooling. So for example, notification wouldn't be required if you were replacing a screwdriver bit, or a cutting tool in a lathe, or a worn locating pin.

M

MikeL

Perish the thought

Yes you have to tell your customer when you are getting a new die to make a part with or doing (major) work on the existing die, press tool and so on.

Cutting blades - no.

Wes Bucey

Prophet of Profit
To elaborate slightly:

Perishable tooling is whatever is comparable to machine tool bits, drill bits, or saw blades, while non-perishable tooling is comparable to drill presses and power saws. Specifically "tool" when used in certain shops means a stamping die or a mold. These "tools" get refurbished (sharpened, cleaned, polished) as maintenance until they have to be replaced. The replacement of these "tools" is the replacement of "non-perishable tools," due to accident or wear after a long cycle of production and maintenance.

A change in design of a stamping or molded (cast) product requires new tool, not "replacement."

C

cncmarine

Wes has it pretty much right..but

Need more information regarding your process.

D

duda_enns

Hi,