ISO 13485:2016 QMS: Outsourced Processes

J

Jscivi

Hello,
I am a biomedical engineer and I am currently starting a medical device start-up in Europe with a colleague and I am in charge of putting into place the QMS (ISO 13485:2016) of the company. I have little experience in that field (apart from some exposition in a previous start-up I worked for), but I have been reading a lot of various standards and quality manuals from other companies to get an idea on how it works. I am therefore happy to have found your forum!

To be brief, we develop a medical device (Class IIa, for CE Mark) that can be controlled by a smartphone-based application, that we are also developing.

We plan on sub-contracting the manufacturing of the medical device. Basically, we would only provide the products specifications of the device (but not the design of the internal electronics/mechanics) to the supplier. The supplier will be in charge of designing the electronics/mechanical systems + manufacturing + testing.
Our company will be mostly focused on the mobile application development.

My question is the following:

While developing the QMS, in particular defining the difference processes and procedures, how do we manage processes/procedures that will be undertaken by our supplier? In particular, what are the various scenarios if the supplier:
- Doesn’t have a QMS
- Has a QMS as per ISO 9001
- Has a QMS as per 13485

For example (Regarding manufacturing), if the supplier doesn’t have a QMS, do we need to write procedures regarding the manufacturing of the device and ask the supplier to comply to them (+ make audits)? And if he has a QMS, does that mean that we don’t need to write any procedures regarding manufacturing, and assume everything is good? Or do we still need to write a procedure and then make sure that the supplier's QMS complies with it?

Thank you in advance for your time and help! :bigwave:

yodon

Leader
Super Moderator
Re: QMS: Outsourced Processes