Managing Use Error Risk - FDA Position: Use Error is Manufacturer's responsilbility

Michael Malis

Quite Involved in Discussions
FDA Position: Use Error is the Manufacturer's responsilbility

1. "Use error is still considered a non-conformity, because human factors and ...similar tools should have been considered during the design phase" - K. Trautman

So how do we identify and assess the severity and motigate errors in user-device interaction?

What conclusions, the results of these answers have have on device user interface and labeling?

What would be consider "enough information" when it comes to the use error risk management?

M

Martin IT

Re: Managing use error risk

I'm not an expert about that, but I've had a problem with an incorrect use of a medical device by the user.
The most effective solution is the 'informative note' where the company explains how use the MD and explains what is the incorrect use and its effect. The second step is re-write the user's manual where you underline how to use the MD for that specific situation ( the company must be very clear with the customer in term of what is dangerous or not ). Third ( if is possible ) you change the project with the aim to have a check on the use of the MD ( in my case I've inserted a software control ).

I hope I have answered your question ( if I understand well what do you mean :lol: )

Michael Malis

... I've had a problem with an incorrect use of a medical device by the user... )

Martin,

You missing the point - new standard put the responsilility on the Manufacturer! So the issue is what can we do to prevent use errors?

Additional requirements in Design Input phase?
Use Error Management in PMA and 510(k)s?
Should we all adapt the use of AAMI standards (HE-48, HE-74, HE-75)?
IEC 62366 and IEC 60601-1-6?

What is the appropriate way to go? and this is before the Question about what would be exapmle of "good labeling" for user documentation?

Any takers?

Marcelo

Inactive Registered Visitor