Guidance - Setting up an integrated quality & environmental management system

T

tuglet

Hi All

I've been the sole IT guy for a manufacturing company for the last 15 years. I've always worked in IT since I graduated 20 years ago.

I have been given the job of setting up an integrated quality and environmental management system and gaining 9001 and 14001 certification.

My question is, how realistic is this?

I ask because I've been working at it for a few months now and I feel like I'm totally out of my depth. I'm constantly frustrated and feeling like I don't know what I'm doing. I've attended two 1-day Foundation courses where we read through the standards clause by clause and discussed them, and a 2-day Internal Auditor course.

Am I just not as smart as I thought I was? Should a reasonably intelligent person be able to take this on?

Q

qpled

Re: Seeking guidance

Tuglet,
IMHO it is common to feel this way when starting out on the road to certification. You are off to a good start with the classes and it sounds like what you may need now is some guidance from the certification body your company will be using for external audits. Perhaps a gap analysis or even just a one-day consultancy could get you to a comfortable spot. Is there a specific part of the entire process that is frustrating you? And/or are you being pressured to accomplish certification in a short period of time?

Golfman25

Trusted Information Resource

In your situation, I would look for a small group program which is designed to get your system set up. Check you local associations or schools. Usually, it's a group of 3-6 similar companies who meet say once a month and work on their QMS to get it ready. Cheaper than a one on one consultant and you have your peers to bounce ideas off. Good luck.

J

johnboywalton